Think BEautifully

Makeup, life, and random thoughts

A Prim-er on Prime-r: Stila Prime Pot March 31, 2011

Filed under: eye primer,Makeup,Sephora,Shopping — thinkbeautifully1 @ 5:15 pm
Tags: , , ,

 

One of my biggest struggles with wearing eye color, is that it just falls off my eyes during the course of the day.  However, since I love wearing color, and I am sick and tired of not playing dress up because I look like a racoon by noon, I am on a mission to find the right eye primer.

I have used several kinds of eye primer, and non primer primer like products (um MAC Paint Pot anyone?).  The biggest issue that I have had is that my uber sensitive eyes react to the primer, and make wearing makeup a moot point because I am crying and stinging all day from the very product that was supposed to SUPPORT my sparklecrack habit!

Enter the Stila Prime Pot.  If you are familiar with Stila Smudge Pots you will see that these are very similar.  In fact, they are also very similar to MAC Paint Pots.

 

The difference with these is that not only are they available in only two shades (Taffy and Caramel) but they are less creamy, and a bit more sticky than Smudge Pots.

Stila says that these are a waterproof eye shadow primer that promises flawless, creaseless eye shadow wear. A revolutionary polymer adheres to eye shadow and allows for shadow to wear all day and night.

Does it live up to the print?

I’ll give them cred, it ALMOST lives up to that claim.  I did have some wear and tear about 3pm.  Stila further claims that this innovative waterproof formula is crease resistant and extends eye shadow wear all day. Prime Pot also creates flawlessly smooth lids and keeps excess oil at bay.

True enough!  The most important thing in my book is that it is EXTREMLY gentle on the eyes.  I had no reaction at all with the product.

As previously mentioned, there are two shades

 

Taffy – soft beige pink

 

 

Caramel – warm tawny beige.  Caramel was a bit too dark for this paleface, but I can see it being a great contour color, and also for medium skin tones.

 

With this product, a very little goes a long way, so the $20 price tag is very affordable, particularly compared to the $18 Urban Decay Primer Potion (review on that later) and Bare Escentuals Prime Time for Eyes.

This is a must have product for me!  I’ll post a follow up review after I use it a few more times.

 

 

2 Responses to “A Prim-er on Prime-r: Stila Prime Pot”

  1. Caroline Says:

    My favorite eye makeup primer was Too Faced’ Shadow Insurance for a long time. It’s still a great product and the shade is very natural and sheer. You do sometimes need to “kneed” the tube because the product will separate but a tube lasts forever because you use so little.
    I would suggest trying Smashbox’s new (or newer) Photo Finish Lid Primer. I got a delux sample and love it. It really does lock shadows in place for 12+ hours. The only drawback is that the only shade it comes in is a medium, yellow based shade that definitely doesn’t match my pale skin tone. So it’s not ideal for the palest shades of shadow. But it’s a great product. Here’s the link: http://www.smashbox.com/PHOTO-FINISH-LID-PRIMER

    • thinkbeautifully1 Says:

      Yep I agree – Two Faced is my go to right now! But I will definitely try the Smashbox. That sounds like a great product! Hrmm I’m pretty pale too – I guess I will just have to try it and see.
      Thanks for the tip!


Leave a Reply

